Quick Health Update

I’ve been pretty lucky when it comes to health as a PCV. My amoebas and I are friends – they’re the kind that I won’t get rid of until I leave, since the medicine to eliminate them is more disruptive than actually having them. I’ve only had bad food poisoning once. I haven’t broken or sprained anything. I’ve never had malaria (quick! Everybody knock on wood!).

I have had an infection in my ear a few times, which was easy to get rid of after a quick visit to the ENT doctor in Cotonou.

Then on Friday (four days ago now), I had dizzy spells. Which was worrying because at both times, I was in AC or under a fan, and sitting down, had had a lot of protein, and had been drinking water.

I ended up in the medical unit of the Peace Corps office. I’m still here. Good news: it’s not meningitis! Or malaria! Bad news: it’s some sort of virus. Neutral news: recommended treatment is to “rest a lot, drink a lot of water, eat good food, and stay in the air conditioning for another day or so.”

Now that’s a treatment I can live with.

Leave a comment